Commonwealth Shared Scholarship 2024/25 Fully Funded

The Commonwealth Shared Scholarship provides full funding for one of three master's degrees offered by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the UK. These include the Master of Arts (MA), Master of Science (MSc), and Master of Letters (MLitt).

Applications are now open for the 2024-2025 Commonwealth Shared Scholarship. Eligible applicants can apply to approved courses at approved British universities under this scholarship. The standard duration of the scholarship is 12 months. 

This scholarship is only for master's level study, not undergraduate or PhD. Those interested in funded PhD study in the UK can apply for the Commonwealth Split-Site PhD Scholarship instead.

The Commonwealth Shared Scholarship covers all expenses. It is jointly funded by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission and the participating UK universities. Further key details about the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme (CSSS) are provided below.

Commonwealth Shared Scholarship 2024
Commonwealth Shared Scholarship 2024/25 Fully Funded

Commonwealth Shared Scholarship UK 2024

  • Country: United Kingdom 
  • Host Institutions: Approved universities in the UK
  • Level of Study: Master's degree 
  • Duration: 12 months
  • Start Date: September 2024 
  • Application Deadline: December 14, 2023

Universities and Courses Approved for Commonwealth Shared Scholarships 2024

Applicants must apply to 3 approved master's degree programs at participating UK universities. 

Scholarship Benefits

  • Airfare from home country to UK, and return ticket after study
  • Full approved tuition fees covered  
  • Monthly stipend of £1,347, or £1,652 in London area 
  • Warm clothing allowance where applicable
  • UK and overseas study-related travel grant
  • Child allowance of £576.61/month for 1st child, £143/month for 2nd child (if the scholar is widowed, divorced, or single parent)

Required Supporting Documents

  1. Submit all documents online 
  2. Proof of citizenship or refugee status in a Commonwealth country
  3. Valid passport or national ID showing photo, DOB, citizenship
  4. Full transcripts of all higher education qualifications

Eligible Countries

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships are open to citizens/refugees of these Commonwealth countries:

  • Bangladesh
  • Belize
  • Botswana
  • Cameroon
  • Dominica
  • Eswatini
  • Fiji
  • Gabon
  • Ghana
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • India
  • Jamaica
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mauritius
  • Montserrat
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Rwanda
  • Saint Helena
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and The Grenadines
  • Samoa
  • Sierra Leone
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • Tanzania
  • The Gambia
  • Togo
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Vanuatu
  • Zambia

Applicant Eligibility

  • Citizen/refugee of the above Commonwealth countries 
  • Permanent resident of an eligible Commonwealth country
  • By September 2024, have an undergraduate degree with upper second-class honors or above, or a lower second-class degree with a relevant postgraduate qualification 
  • Available to start UK study in September 2024
  • Not studied/worked 1+ year in a high-income country 
  • Unable to afford UK study without the scholarship

Application Process

  • Apply through CSC's online system 
  • Can apply for multiple courses/universities 
  • May only accept one Commonwealth Shared Scholarship offer


Previous Post Next Post